By the Road Abandoned – Notes

Well. Noticed the retitle? I’m not 100% pleased with it, but then, I choose some horribly pretentious titles to be pleased with, so that’s not really saying much. This is what happens when you get ahead of yourself, I guess! I mentioned that this story was being posted as-written, and you know what, I’m not sure I cared for the experience. There’s some safety in a buffer, and I knew I’d be abandoning that.

I had a handful of goals with story, and they were more or less as follows:

  • Get out of Evendim.
  • Get to know Llythne.
  • Get into the North Downs.

Sort of got hung up on that second one, which is fine. I’m a character writer, first and foremost, I think, and I’ve always believed that the way to tell a story is to tell it around interesting people. That way it doesn’t matter so much what’s actually happening, as compared to how the characters are reacting to it. So, here are some tidbits.

  • Brassica’s objection to being picked up by big people is tangentially related to what I presume my cat’s objections to be. Here is this person who is multiple times your size, and they are just picking you up!  How are you supposed to respond to that!
  • I wish I knew better about the way Sindarin syntax works, because I have no idea if I’m making reasonable  analogues in Celebarad’s clumsy overtures in the the common tongue. He’s going to get better, hopefully very soon.
  • Beldrieth is hard to sort out. Llythne isn’t entirely wrong in her assessment, she’s been saddled with a load of children, and she’s trying to keep them all in line.
  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZ7P1EID7v8 <—- This is why Brassica’s gone off on a rant about bacon in waybread. A kinnie posted this on our FB page and then we had a FIGHT.
  • Wanna know something sad? Poor Torogethir’s character was based on a stock photo, of a smiley dude who turned up when I googled “man in his forties”. He probably wouldn’t have been so cheerful otherwise. I like him though. You know how writers talk about characters getting away from them? He got away from me.
  • You know, it’s funny about Llythne. She’s leaving home too. And she’s come to the edge of her world, and found a kindred spirit at the border. And maybe for just a moment, she wavered on the brink of staying. BUT I WON’T LET HER, WE HAVE THINGS TO DO! ONWARD!
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

